Jason Taylor Joins the NFL Foundation Board of Directors

Posted in: Foundation News



Taylor Selected to Serve for Two Years

The National Football League Foundation announced today that former NFL Man of the Year JASON TAYLOR has been chosen to serve on the organization’s board of directors. Taylor enjoyed a 15-year NFL playing career with the Dolphins, Redskins and Jets, including being selected to six Pro Bowls, and retired in 2011.

Taylor joins the NFL Foundation board in a newly formed post for retired Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year winners who will serve two-year terms. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award has been presented annually since 1970 to an outstanding player who also makes significant contributions to society. Taylor received the prestigious award in 2007.

“I am honored to join the NFL Foundation,” said TAYLOR. “I look forward to working with my fellow board members and the 32 NFL teams to advance the Foundation’s mission.”

“We appreciate Jason’s commitment to the NFL Foundation,” said NFL COMMISSIONER ROGER GOODELL. “As a former NFL player and a dedicated philanthropist, Jason brings a unique and valuable perspective to the organization.”

Taylor currently serves as an NFL analyst for ESPN. He devotes much of his time to leading the Jason Taylor Foundation, which he founded in 2004 along with his wife, Katina. The organization supports and creates programs that facilitate the growth and empowerment of South Florida children in need by focusing on improved health care, education and quality of life. 

“During his NFL career Jason was a leader on the field and in his community,” said CHARLOTTE JONES ANDERSON, chairman of the NFL Foundation and executive vice president of the Dallas Cowboys. “We are excited to have Jason join the board and assist in guiding the foundation’s efforts to support our communities.”

Taylor joins fellow board members: MICHAEL BIDWILL, President, Arizona Cardinals; SHAHID KHAN, Owner, Jacksonville Jaguars; MARY OWEN, Executive Vice President of Strategic Planning, Buffalo Bills; ARTHUR J. ROONEY II, President, Pittsburgh Steelers; and LEONARD WILF, Owner/Vice Chairman, Minnesota Vikings.