The NFL announced today the 32 players honored as their team’s Man of the Year. Representing the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact, these players are now eligible to win the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes a player for his excellence on and off the field.

Three of these nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for the Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton, who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2016. 

The winner will be announced during the 5th Annual NFL Honors awards show, a two-hour primetime special airing nationally on Feb. 6, the night before Super Bowl 50, from 9-11 p.m. ET on CBS.

Each of the 32 team nominees receives a $5,000 donation to their charity of choice. The two runner-ups will receive an additional $6,000 donation, and the winner will receive an additional $50,000 donation. Donations will be courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

"Serving their communities and philanthropic causes is a strong and long-standing tradition of NFL players,” said NFL Commissioner ROGER GOODELL. “These outstanding young men embrace and represent that important commitment of giving back to our communities. We salute and thank our players for their leadership."

To further celebrate and promote the 32 nominees, Nationwide, the presenting sponsor of the award, will execute an inaugural Charity Challenge. Team nominees will each have a unique hashtag and fans will be encouraged to tweet using player hashtags. The player hashtag that generates the most mentions will win a $20,000 donation to his charity of choice from Nationwide. 

"As a company who understands the importance of community service and giving, Nationwide is proud to be the sponsor of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award," said Nationwide’s Chief Marketing Officer TERRANCE WILLIAMS. "While only one of these men can win the award, the fact that they have been nominated makes them, and the communities they serve, winners. We congratulate this year’s nominees and thank them for their leadership."

Below is a list of team nominees. For more team nominees and award information, visit




Arizona Cardinals

Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons

Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens

Steve Smith Sr.

Buffalo Bills

Eric Wood

Carolina Panthers

Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears

Matt Forté

Cincinnati Bengals

Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns

Gary Barnidge

Dallas Cowboys

Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos

David Bruton Jr.

Detroit Lions

Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers

Sam Barrington

Houston Texans

J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts

Dwayne Allen

Jacksonville Jaguars

Zane Beadles

Kansas City Chiefs

Eric Berry

Miami Dolphins

Ryan Tannehill

Minnesota Vikings

Chad Greenway

New England Patriots

Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints

Benjamin Watson

New York Giants

Eli Manning

New York Jets

Eric Decker

Oakland Raiders

Justin Tuck

Philadelphia Eagles

Connor Barwin

Pittsburgh Steelers

Cameron Heyward

San Diego Chargers

Darrell Stuckey

San Francisco 49ers

Anquan Boldin

Seattle Seahawks

Richard Sherman

St. Louis Rams

Chris Long

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Vincent Jackson

Tennessee Titans

Delanie Walker

Washington Redskins

Ryan Kerrigan

About Nationwide
Nationwide, a Fortune 100 company based in Columbus, Ohio, is one of the largest and strongest diversified insurance and financial services organizations in the U.S. and is rated A+ by both A.M. Best and Standard & Poor’s. The company provides a full range of insurance and financial services, including auto, commercial, homeowners and life insurance; public and private sector retirement plans, annuities and mutual funds; banking and mortgages; specialty health; pet, motorcycle, boat and farm insurance. For more information, visit
Nationwide, Nationwide is on your side, Join the Nation and the Nationwide N and Eagle are service marks of Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company.

#    #    #